Tuesday 17th May 2022

Images en-tête site H2 (3)

Registration is mandatory to attend the event, please visit this page to register to the conference.

Location: Representation of the State of Baden-Württemberg to the European Union, 60 rue Belliard, 1040 Brussels

8:30 – 9:00 : Welcome coffee

9:00 – 09:30: Opening speeches of the 2nd day

  • Bodo Lehmann, Head of the Representation of the State of Baden-Württemberg to the European Union
  • Pia Imbs, Grand Est Europe Vice-President, President of the Eurométropole de Strasbourg
  • Tudor Constantinescu, Principal Adviser to the Director General for Energy in charge of Hydrogen, European Commission
  • Jens Geier, Member of the European Parliament, Rapporteur on the EU hydrogen strategy and the EU gas directive

9:30 – 10:30: Businesses and researchers, key players in regional development

  • Barbara Koch, Professor at the University of Freiburg im Breisgau, scientific director of the Fessenheim study
  • Catherine Brun, Secretary general of GRTgaz
  • Philippe Haffner, President of Haffner energy
  • Adwin Martens, Head of Waterstofnet
  • Tabea Ruckh, Responsible for funding, Platform H2BW

→  Moderator: Jacques Haenn, Representative of the DINAMHySE cluster of Grand Est, France Hydrogen regional delegate

10:30 – 10:45: Break

10:45 – 12:00: What kind of support from the EU for hydrogen-related projects?

  • Carla Benauges, Research and Innovation Policy Officer, Directorate-General for Climate Action (DG CLIMA)
  • Henning Ehrenstein, coordinateur hydrogène, Directorate-General for Internal Market (DG GROW)
  • Olivier Silla, Head of Unit – Transport Investment (DG MOVE)
  • Bart Biebuyck, Executive Director of the Clean Hydrogen Partnership
  • Juan Antonio Magaña-Campos, Deputy Head of the Innovation Finance Advisory Division at the EIB

→ Moderator: Gaëtan Claeys, director of Grand Est-Europe

12:00 – 13:45: Lunch with poster sessions and networking

Examples of projects transforming regions and calls for partnerships : possibility given to participants to showcase a concrete project (roll-up/banner, leaflets…)

→ You can submit here your project.

13:45 – 14:30: From scientific cooperation to a common view on the way forward

  • Presentation of the results of the workshops of 16th May by the « rapporteurs »
    • Aravind Purushothaman Vellayani, Professor and Chair of Energy Conversion, University of Groningen
    • Evrim Ursavas, Associate Professor of Energy and Logistics, University of Groningen
    • Patrick Hendrick, Professor at Ecole Polytechnique de Bruxelles and Chairman of the hydrogen thematic within BERA (Belgian Energy Research Alliance)
    • Laurent Antoni, Chairman of Hydrogen Europe Research, CEA
  • Call for action: Pia Imbs, President of the Eurométropole de Strasbourg, Doctor in economics, head of the Sustainable Development Chair at EM Strasbourg

→  Moderator : Olivier Joubert, CNRS Director of « French Research Network on Hydrogen » (FRH2), Professor at PolytechNantes and at Université de Nantes

14:30 – 15:45: The Greater Region, a pilot region for hydrogen in Europe?

Opening: Anke Rehlinger, Minister-President of Saarland

  • Gilbert Pitance, General delegate of the Pôle de plasturgie de l’Est, President of the IUT de Moselle-Est
  • Marc Zingraff, Vice President of the International Relations Commission of the Grand Est Region, 1st Vice President of Sarreguemines Confluences
  • Bernd Vogler, Managing director of the chemical associations of Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Raphaël Tilot, Executive President Renewables & Hydrogen, John Cockerill
  • Pascal Arimont, Member of the European Parliament, member of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy

→   Moderator: Jean-Baptiste Cuzin, director in charge of cross-border, European and international cooperation, Region Grand Est

15:45 – 16:00: Break

16:00 – 17:15: Rhine-Meuse: transitioning from H2 territorial strategies to a collective endeavour

Opening: Claude Turmes, Minister for Energy of Luxembourg, President of the Pentalateral Energy Forum

  • Franck Leroy, Vice-President of the Grand Est Region in charge of ecological transition, Mayor of Epernay
  • Angelika Niebler, Member of the European Parliament, member of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy
  • Laurent Riche, Vice-President of Mulhouse Alsace Agglomération
  • Ulf Christian Reichardt, President and CEO of NRW.Energy4Climate
  • Jan Molema, Director, Benelux General Secretariat

→ Moderator: Willem Huisman, moderator of the industry round table, European Clean Hydrogen Alliance

17:15 – 18:00: Closing remarks

  • Stefan Kaufmann, Innovation Commissioner for green hydrogen, Federal ministry of education and research
  • Laurent Michel, Director-General for Energy and Climate, French Presidency of the Council of the EU
  • Jean Rottner, President of the Grand Est Region, French presidency of the Greater Region
  • Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Research and Innovation, European Commission

18:00: Cocktail